trying to conceive

elephant1
Newcomer
Newcomer
Reply with quote Back to top
Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 8:06 am 
Post subject: trying to conceive
hi, I am new to babychat, have been trying for a baby for 3 years now, I am 48 years of age, I am ovulating, my periods are 28 day cycle, I am starting to think it will never happen, and its most likely due to my age, I am healthly, has anyone got any advice please
nutty1
AskBaby Legend
AskBaby Legend
Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:38 am 
Post subject:
Id recommend going to your doctors, theyre probably your best option. Be it nhs or private and get some tests for you and your partner, a full fertility check is what Id recommend.
AskBaby Legend
Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:26 pm 
Post subject:
It's very hard to say as age affects us all differently when it comes to our eggs, the stats show that fertility declines after forty, so it might take longer than for a woman in her 30's but as long as you do still ovulate and everything is fine physically you are still in with a chance.
Unfortunately egg quality declines as well, so anything you can do to give that a boost is good, so basically avoid anything that causes cell damage like drinking and smoking and even caffeine eat healthily and keep up your levels of the good vits and minerals. Things like Vit C, zinc, selenium, all the B vits, iron and folic acid are very important. To keep your hormones well balanced avoiding too much refined carbs and sugars is a good idea and also exercise helps, but not too much running as apparently it can stop ovulation Rolling Eyes Laughing
It could well be worth seeing your GP for some basic tests though as they should still refer you if necessary as you've been trying for 3 yrs.