Anyone had a false negative?

BillyoJean
Newcomer
Newcomer
Reply with quote Back to top
Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 9:29 am 
Post subject: Anyone had a false negative?
Hi all, i'm a newbie here. First month trying and AF is 2 days late. Did a First Response this morning and it was negative. Just wondering if may women get a false negative or is this just wishful thinking on my behalf Exclamation Question Exclamation Question
sarah23
Guru Member
Guru Member
Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:00 am 
Post subject:
Hi hun, Welcome to the site - it's a bit addictive!

Yes you can get false negatives hun - it's most likely that if you are pregnant now, your hormone isn't strong enough to be detected by the test. It can take some women 2-3 weeks after your af is due for you to get enough hormone to detect it so don't be too disheartened yet. Are you having any symptoms? Are your cycles usually regular and how many days are your normal cycles?

I took a test on Wednesday - first response and got a negative but I'm not getting down about it as it may still be too early so am going to wait a week or two and if af hasn't arrived i'm going to test again. xxxx
BillyoJean
Newcomer
Newcomer
Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:13 am 
Post subject:
Hey Sarah23, thanks for the reply and warm welcome!! It certainly is addictive and what a site - god there's so much info....

Yeah I've been monitoring my cycle for 3 months & have had a regular 25 day cycle. Usually know I'm getting AF the day before it arrives cause of AF symptoms. This is 1st month TTC.

Not feeling much at all at the moment and what I am feeling I'm not sure if I'm kinda imagining it Exclamation Exclamation I've experienced a little dizziness (sitting at my desk) on a couple of ocassions lately which is unusual and I feel a mild sort of pressure in my front lower abdomen since yesterday.... I definitely haven't had any of the usual AF smyptoms. I'll leave it for a couple of days & test again if no AF...