Pregnant - 14 mths after ruptured appendix????? Worries

ja43118
Reply with quote Back to top
Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2007 1:27 pm 
Post subject: Pregnant - 14 mths after ruptured appendix????? Worries
I am 8 wks pregnant and I have been having a dull ache in the right hand side of my abdomen for the last few days. It feels exactly like stomach cramps but is only at one side. I am really paranoid about ectopic pregnancy and want to know whether I should be getting this checked out? It isnt painful just a bit uncomfortable. I havent had any bleeding yet - but it is due time for my period (if I wasnt pregnant!).

I have my 1st midwife appointment on Monday - do you think I should ask about this sooner?

I am only paranoid because I had a ruptured appendix 14 months ago and the pain seems to be where my scar is and I read in a "book" that this might happen after surgery. Any advice
dawnb
Forum Leader
Forum Leader
Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2007 2:39 pm 
Post subject:
hi there, im not an expert on the subject as im having a few issues with my pregnancy but i woould just wait untill u see the midwife on monday, if the pain gets worse or u start bleeding then get it checked out straight away,
hop it all goes well, let me know how u get on. I also have my midwife appt on monday... exciting isnt it?
dawn xxx
ja43118
Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2007 2:41 pm 
Post subject:
Thanks Dawn - yeah it is really exciting - but so worrying aswell. There are so many things you can worry about - I guess you just need to get to your scan date and after that a lot of worries will go I hope.

Will keep you posted,

Jox
MrsNash
Newcomer
Newcomer
Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2007 2:45 pm 
Post subject:
Hi,

Sorry to hear of your concerns. My advise would be to go and see the doctor straight away, just to be on the safe side. I am recovering from an Ectopic pregnancy - I had a very dull pain in my left hand side but I also had bleeding with it, albeit very light, you don't have this so thats a great sign.