Maternity worries :-(

sammyantha
Reply with quote Back to top
Posted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 7:27 pm 
Post subject: Maternity worries :-(
I'm gettin married beginning of August and we are considering starting to ttc just before/just after. I'm a teacher and don't think maternity pay is fab unfortunately. I worry all the time about my finances I really do. I think it's something like 4 weeks full pay, 6 weeks 90%, 12 weeks half pay and rest SMP. I'm assuming I would also get SMP alongside 90% and half pay not sure though?

If we decide to start ttc just before/just after wedding I's shoot myself in the foot with regards to getting the following summer full pay (6 weeks hols) it would be classed as my maternity leave unfort. I don't think I could wait any longer to ttc though and I suppose nothing can be planned for either.

Arggh sorry ladies, I just wanted a moan. I have 2 friends who had babies last summer and who have managed ok. We bought a house in Sept and have financial committments as it is so worries me more lol.

Any teachers out there who have managed? Anybody out there in a similar situation?

Thanks ladies, sorry to moan xx

kerah1
Guru Member
Guru Member
Posted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 7:36 pm 
Post subject:
hi bride2b and congratulations on the wedding!!! Are you all excited? i got married last July and 6 months before I was hysterical, i was so happy and so stressed at the same time Laughing
I'm not a teacher so i dont think i'll be much help but didnt want to read and run!
I'm entitled to 8 weeks full pay, 4 weeks 90% and then its 12 weeks half pay and SMP, but i guess it'll be different for everybody... I know what you mean about worrying about money but it's not everything in life and as long as you really want a baby and can live comfortably then go for it... i'd rather not take any holidays for 10 years and have a baby than no baby... x
Posted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 7:41 pm 
Post subject:
Hi hun